Cricket 24/7  

Welcome to the Cricket 24/7.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. There are also more forums available to members, such as the Lounge - where members chat about just about anything under the sun except cricket!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   Cricket 24/7 > Cricket Discussion Forums > England > ECB press releases
Register FAQDonate Members List Calendar Casino Articles Terms of Use Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 15th May 2012, 09:23   #1
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: south coast
Team(s): England, Hampshire, Yorkshire, Pentyrch
Posts: 10,131
England Cricketer of Year Awards announced

ECB announces winners of England Cricketer of Year Awards for 2011-12

ECB today announced that James Anderson and Charlotte Edwards have been named, respectively, as the England Menís and England Womenís Cricketer of the Year for 2011-12.

They are joined by two other award winners; the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year, Daniel Bell-Drummond, and this yearís England Disability Cricketer of the Year, Callum Rigby.

All four received their awards at a special dinner held in the Long Room at Lordís this evening which was hosted by ECB and Brit Insurance, the sponsor of all England cricket teams.

The awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summerís domestic international programme and encompassing the recent winter tours.

James Anderson beat off competition from fellow nominees Stuart Broad and Alastair Cook to win the Menís Award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media.

Anderson, who is currently the number three ranked bowler in the ICCís Test rankings, enjoyed an excellent 12 months with England which saw him take his 250th Test wicket and rise to 5th on the list of Englandís all-time wicket-takers in Test cricket.

Commenting on his award, James Anderson said: ďI am flattered to win this award and would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I have been pleased with my performances over the last year and was delighted with the way I bowled on the recent tour of Sri Lanka - but I take even greater pleasure from being part of such a successful England team. ď

England Womenís captain Charlotte Edwards won the Womenís award following an outstanding year in which she averaged over 50 with the bat and saw her team complete a clean sweep of series wins at home and abroad. The other nominees were Laura Marsh, Sarah Taylor and Lydia Greenway.

Commenting on her award, Charlotte Edwards said: ďItís an honour to receive this award. Iím really pleased to have contributed to the teamís victories. Our success over the last 12 month is testament to contributions from the whole team and we look forward to that continuing in the exciting season ahead.Ē

Kent batsman Daniel Bell-Drummond was named the winner of the inaugural England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award which fellow England Under 19 players, Adam Ball (Kent), Ben Foakes (Essex) and Sam Wood (Nottinghamshire) were also nominated for.

Bell-Drummondís award capped a superb year for the Kent batsman who first played for England Under 19s as a 16-year-old and is now Englandís all-time highest run-scorer in One-Day Internationals at Under 19 level.

The Disability Cricketer of the Year award was won by Callum Rigby - a 19-year-old bowler from Telford, Shropshire who has emerged from recreational cricket to become a key member of Englandís Learning Disability squad.

Callum took eight wickets for the Learning Disability Squad during their successful Tri-Series tournament in South Africa last year and was subsequently selected for a World XI which took on a Griqua Diamonds Select XI in the final match of the South African tour.

Stuart Broad won the ĎFansí Moment of the Yearí Award, voted for by members of ECBís Twelfth Man fan community, for his hat-trick against India in last summerís Trent Bridge Test Match.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: ďThis has been a marvellous year for all our England teams with our Menís team becoming the Worldís number one ranked Test side, our Womenís team winning every series they contested, and our EDP and Disability squads also making significant progress in their respective fields.

ďCongratulations go to all our winners. There was intense competition for the individual awards in each category this year and James, Charlotte, Daniel and Callum can all be very proud of their achievements. We also thank Brit, our team sponsor, for supporting these awards and MCC for providing such a magnificent venue for our annual awards dinner.ď
"For Michael Vaughan to use those lines and those words, it does make me feel quite ill." Iain O'Brien
V4never is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.