Cricket 24/7  

Welcome to the Cricket 24/7.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. There are also more forums available to members, such as the Lounge - where members chat about just about anything under the sun except cricket!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   Cricket 24/7 > Cricket Discussion Forums > England > ECB press releases
Register FAQDonate Members List Calendar Casino Articles Terms of Use Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th May 2013, 16:22   #1
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: south coast
Team(s): England, Hampshire, Yorkshire, Pentyrch
Posts: 10,131
ECB announces winners of England Cricketer of Year Awards for 2012-2013

ECB today announced that Matt Prior and Katherine Brunt have been named, respectively, as the England Menís and England Womenís Cricketer of the Year for 2012-2013.

Essex and England Under 19s wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Foakes won the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award while the England Disability Cricketer of the Year award was made to Matthew Dean from Englandís Visually Impaired squad.

All four were honoured at a special dinner held in the Long Room at Lordís this evening which was hosted by ECB and Brit Insurance, the sponsor of all Englandís cricket teams.

The awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summerís domestic international programme and encompassing the recent winter tours.

Matt Prior overcame competition from last yearís winner James Anderson and England Test and ODI captain Alastair Cook to win the Menís Award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media.

He is the first England wicketkeeper to win this award after enjoying an excellent year behind the stumps and with the bat - scoring seven Test half-centuries overall and a match-saving century in Englandís most recent Test Match against New Zealand in Auckland.

England pace bowler Katherine Brunt won the Womenís award for a third time after previous triumphs in 2006 and 2010 following a year in which she proved to be Englandís most consistent performer with the ball Ė picking up twelve wickets in Englandís recent ICC Womenís World Cup campaign in India. Her fellow nominees were Holly Colvin, Charlotte Edwards and Sarah Taylor.

Ben Foakes was named the winner of the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award. The Essex wicket-keeper batsman was England Under 19sí leading run-scorer at the Under 19 World Cup in Australia last summer, toured India with the England Performance Programme squad last winter and Australia with England Lions earlier this year. He also made 93 on his LV=County Championship debut for Essex against Leicestershire earlier in the summer.

Matthew Dean, from Welling in Kent, received the Disability Cricketer of the Year award after enjoying an outstanding 12 months with the England Visually Impaired squad. He was the teamís leading run-scorer in last winterís T20 World Cup for the Blind in India Ė contributing 490 runs at an average of more than 80.

Matt Priorís unbeaten century in the recent Auckland Test Match which helped England draw the Test series against New Zealand also won the TwelfthMan Cricketing Moment of the Year Award, voted for by members of ECBís TwelfthMan fan community on Facebook.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: ďThere have some memorable individual performances across all our England teams over the past year - a 12 month period which saw the England Menís team win a Test Series in India for the first time in 28 years and the England Women complete a clean sweep of four NatWest series wins at home last summer.

ďWe congratulate the winners, Matt, Katherine, Matthew and Ben, on their individual achievements and thank all those who took part in the judging process as well as our team sponsor Brit, and the MCC, for their help in staging our annual awards ceremony.Ē
"For Michael Vaughan to use those lines and those words, it does make me feel quite ill." Iain O'Brien
V4never is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 13:53   #2
Posting Goddess
1000yardstare's Avatar
JA 851 Cummins 149 Wagner 147 TCurran 21 SCurran 15
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London
Posts: 21,074
Awards tonight for 2013-2014

2010 - Swann
2011 - Anderson
2012 - Prior
2013 - Bell pe=batting pe=batting pe=bowling pe=bowling

I think it will be Bell.

2011 - 64.87 (Bell's average that year 118.75, Cook 84.27, KP 73.10)
2012 - 38.86
2013 - 31.26

Last edited by 1000yardstare : 9th June 2014 at 23:10.
1000yardstare is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.